DEVO @ The Moore

When I was a kid, probably around 8 or 9 I had a walkman and two tapes, Culture Club‘s Colour By Numbers and DEVO‘s Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo!. I’ve known all my life that I had to see DEVO, something I can now cross off my bucket list. And it unintentionally became a date night for Morgs and I, dinner, shopping and a show. We got to the show about half way through The Octopus Project‘s opening set. They were pleasantly tolerable, mostly instrumental new wavey psych with a theremin thrown in every now and then.

After a montage of their music videos DEVO took the stage dressed like the grey hornet, I became a total fan boy. They played all the major hits and many of the fan favorites. They were loud and played just as fast. Mark Mothersbaugh‘s voice sounded older but just as urgent and rallying. Throughout the show they changed into costumes from their pasts, and did their best to keep the energy up.

I’m thinking this is like a secret final tour, because the show had a very “greatest hits” feel about i, it wasn’t cohesive. For the most part their musicality showed no age, yet there were several awkward moments where they seemed unrehearsed. My last negative comment is that the order of the song in the set list could have been better, and the last song was a terrible choice. Overall I loved the show, but left somewhat unsatisfied.

The Set List

Don’t Shoot (I’m a Man)
Peek-a-Boo
What We Do
Going Under
Fresh
That’s Good
Girl U Want
Whip It
Planet Earth
(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (The Rolling Stones cover)
Secret Agent Man (Johnny Rivers cover)
Uncontrollable Urge
Mongoloid
Jocko Homo
Smart Patrol/Mr. DNA
Gates of Steel
Freedom of Choice
Beautiful World

Leave a Reply

