eight months of books.

Looking back at the books I’ve read over the last couple of month, I’m a little ashamed. For the most part they are all frivolous, easy reads. With moving to Seattle in July, and my work being uber-crazy chaotic for several months, serious reading wasn’t what I wanted.

Back in the days when I still had cable I would try to catch Chelsea Lately. Chelsea Handler is show is one of the funniest and honest shows about celebrity and pop culture. We were also fans of her earlier show, the highly entertaining Girls Behaving Badly. Turns out she is a fairly good writer also, her stories are often about drinking and sex and weave themselves into the tale of  her climb to late night success. Chelsea may not have the same memoir writing prowess of  some of her peers, but she does hold your attention and makes you laugh.

Shades of Grey is the start of a new series by Jasper Fforde, and is a hard book to describe. Shades of Grey starts the story of a society where people are judged and categorized  by how well they see certain colors, the government also controls the usage of color as a way of control. This book sets up the concept and introduces the characters that seem poised to lead the revolution and set the colors free. Much like all Jasper Fforde’s other books, I loved it. It’s well thought out with many layers and messages that will probably be the basis of an English class at some point. Hopefully the wait for the next books won’t be  long.

A good book about a family sitting Shiva for the patriarch. Full of colorful characters and will  probably be an indie film soon.

Morgan had never seen The Black Cauldron, although he had read the book  series as a kid, so we watched it a while back. I was the other way, the movie was a favorite when I was a kid, although I did read the Disney book. I thought I would give the series a try. The Black Cauldron is the second book in the series, but the movie is mainly based on The Book of Three, the first book. I didn’t love this book,  and I don’t blame the book.  I’m thinking the reason is we just watched the movie, so I knew all the twists and how it ends. I’ll be picking up the second book at some point, no hurry though.

A surprisingly good book, another look into the rise of another female comedienne. Kathy Griffin‘s book is better than both of the Chelsea Handler books. Kathy has had a rather interesting back story, plus it’s riddled with stories of other celebrities that are often hilarious. A great and very quick read.

Big fan of John Hodgman. Trust me, you’ll enjoy this book.

I put off reading any of the Scott Pilgrim books until all of them were out, then I had to read them all before seeing the movie. I like the series and the movie a whole bunch.

I had to finish the series, and I had to wait for the paperback.  Don’t judge me harshly when I say that I loved the book.

The Hunger Games trilogy, two years in the life of Katniss Everdeen in post-apocalyptic America. I’m not going tell you too much about the books, it’s better that way. They are all great books that suck you in, for me the second book was the best. Looking forward to see how the heck they are going to make them into movies.

I wasn’t trying to become the authority on current female comedienne, it just happened. Morgan was given this for christmas, so I figured I might as well read it. It was alright.

 

 

 

 

2 comments
  1. arwen said:

    “…I figured I might as well read it. It was alright.”
    I think THAT is the best thing I have ever read.
    Love,
    Not A Fan Of Sarah Silverman

  2. Lochlan said:

    I gave Morgan the Sarah Silverman book for Christmas, and, two months later, it’s on this blog.

    It’s like “The Butterfly Effect,” or maybe “Pay It Forward.” Definitely at least one of the two, but likely a combination of both.

Leave a Reply

